Forum - Space Odyssey MMORPG - a massive free online space game
May 02, 2024, 01:34:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New game Astro Galaxy launched by ET Virtual Worlds, http://www.astro-galaxy.com

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Reverse Ship Building?  (Read 3310 times)
sniperbbb
Unidentified Commander

View Profile
« on: September 17, 2007, 10:35:53 AM »

I am rather new to this game still and looking through the guides, it seems most of the ship design guides seem to be backwards and cause cramping.

This may not be so important in building swarmers and pships due to the nature of the ships but building your big ships and you have specific ratios in mind for attk/hp ACU and ABS you would design the systems first.

IE

Design Weapon(s)
Design Special(s)
Design Computer(s)
Design Armor(s)
Design Powercore
And finally
Design Ship

Is it just me or does this seem to be the better way to go?
Report to moderator   Logged
thezerg
Staff Sergeant

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2007, 11:53:11 AM »

That's how i design it. But some players like the other way better. I dont know why though. it does seem like youd need to cramp some designs at the end to fit

a helpful website for noobs ~ http://cotaspaceo.17.forumer.com/
Chronos
Sergeant First Class

Make your swords become like things unto chainsaws

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2007, 02:44:34 PM »

Cramping? I haven't had trouble with cramping.

The optimum space for a component to take up is constant after a certain ship size. So as long your hull is large enough for the standard rules to apply, you'll always know what amount of space your components are going to take up. Just send the rest to your powercore. Then all that's left is dividing up your energy quota.